Clover's (first) website

Clover has been asking me for a website for, well, as long as e could say the words. And the promise had always been when reading and writing is happening. And it is happening. So here we go!

We are going to setup a sub-domain, and then Clover is going to learn HTML. One element at a time. We’ll be working up to the goal of whatever Clover wants on the front page.

2 Likes

This is a little scary. I’m about to meet my largest fear head-on: am I capable of teaching my child?

There are a lot of swirling ideas in my head:

• how reliable are the “learning style” models?
  • is webcraft so personally important to me, will I have unreasonable expectations?
  • is this even relevant? a distraction? my hubris?

That’s a lot of doubt. Meh. Ain’t no thing.

Because the more I slow down, the more I get done. When I look out I see chaos around me, but not touching. I’m a rock. And this is not natural. I trained for this. I’m an expert at handling the bullshit life throws at us.

And I love this particular instance of human so gawd damn much it hurts to think I will mess this up, at any step.

In many ways I need this much more. Wait, probably in all the ways! I always benefit from beginner’s mind. The challenge is amazing, since I’ve loaded this kid’s life with fascinating, distracting things. Witches, magic, books, games, words words words. Can I convince em that saying something to the future is still fun if I insist ey understand the underlying spell?

I think so.

Because we could capture the interests of some, with the shiny demos and clever visuals we build in tutorials and new technologies. But what is that future? How many technology in the shallows, where it easily mixes with culture, practices, capitalism. People are pulled in so many directions by so many tidal forces, and the world isn’t handling it well. So we need to create a new organization of understanding: we should producing digital druids wherever we can.