Companies that send me unsolicited email

I read all terms of service and privacy statements. If I can’t, I don’t sign up.

I double-check every form I fill out (I build forms for a living).

I don’t accidentally sign up for anything. It is intentional.

So when I get unsolicited email claiming I signed up for something, it’s bullshit. This is a log of such bullshit.

I got a survey email from a company called “Delighted”, haven’t visited by apparently at https://delighted.com/.

It was on behalf of Flywheel, a WordPress hosting company that’s been bought by someone, I forget. It is to an address that begins maiki+3cities, for a website I built over a decade ago.

Flywheel’s owner-entity is illegally sending me unsolicited email.

Worth reporting? https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/GettingStarted?NextQID=409&Url=%23%26panel1-5&SubCategoryID=18#crnt

I thought there was a theoretical way to get damages oneself but i can’t find it.

1 Like

I do report it to the FTC; I even used to forward spam with detailed backtraces. :nerd_face:

I’m trying this new approach of public shaming. Maybe folks will search and find their unsoliciter here with a link to the FTC and will complain in kind. :slight_smile:

1 Like

I can never tell if it is Yelp or someone posing as Yelp, but I know I will never have anything to do with that company, and they should never, ever email me.

Yelp the company is worse than most spammers, as they make scare-calls to real companies to convince them to “claim” their company’s profile or whatever.

Good Vibrations is a feminist, sex-positive shop, they sell sexy toys and associated things (what is that called? “Sex shop”? :thinking:).

I ordered something from them, and they shared my email address and my order with a third-party called Power Reviews, which sent me an email where all the links are over HTTP.