Varis the Elf, Fighter and Gemcutter

@malatesta Here is my first pass at my character:

Elvish Fighter (Jeweller/Gemcutter, unsure of fighter focus yet, but finesse/dex is my bag)

Personality Trait: I like to talk at length about my profession.
Ideal: I am slow to action, because there is always more to a scenario than what is seen at first glance. Also, everyone should be able to have something beautiful to wear.
Bond: I must solve the mystery of this gemstone.
Flaw: It is extremely hard for me to sell gems/jewelry for money.

Background: Oh, there isn’t too much to tell. I’m a jeweler by trade, you see. I’ve spent most of my life learning and studying the best methods for gemcutting, how to properly set a stone, and so on. I have had a modest shop in Malat, catering to the rich and poor alike. Many other jewelers ignore the poorer, but I think it is important, critical actually to help people own things they find beautiful. Practicing my art on lesser gemstones, well that’s still practice so I don’t mind. And also… oh but I digress.

Before my shop? Well, that was before and doesn’t really matter.

Last year, after a lifetime of dedicating myself to my art, there was an unfortunate accident in my shop which caused me to lose my shop, as well as all my inventory. It was a staggering loss. So many wonderful gems I’d collected over the years…

Anyway, I decided a change of pace was needed. Instead of waiting for vendors and explorers to bring gems they find to me, I’ve decided to go out and find them myself. I’ve heard a human friend of mine is in town, he and I always came to a good understanding when he’d bring in somethings for appraisal and sale. I think we may try to work together in a more official sense.